New love to longtermdata blog

After surviving my first semester as a PhD student, I think I just might be able to devote a little more time to the longtermdata blog. I’ve added some of my favorite blogs to the blogroll and am going through the painful process of finding a suitable theme. Bear with me on the theme thing.. it’s rough out there.

In the past month or so I have started to collect some good links and stories which are all somehow related to long term digital preservation. Here’s a good chunk of them:

A Tool to Verify Digital Records, Even as Technology Shifts
This is mostly about research happening at the University of Washington, but Stewart Brand is quoted at the end of the article about the Format Exchange, a project which I have been dabbling in.

Digital Preservation Challenge
DPE’s latest digital preservation challenge. A great great great idea. I encourage anyone to take it on.

Got Data?
If you have access to a subscription to ACM, check this out. “Tools for surviving a data deluge to ensure your data will be there when you need it.”

ExLibris Group Releases Digital Preservation System
!!

Movage
Kevin Kelly’s ‘movage’ idea infiltrates the digital curation community. Hoo-ray!

Kevin Kelly on Movage
Yes, yes, and yes.

That is probably more than enough to keep you all busy. I’ll be bringing more of the old and more new stuff to you in the very near future.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

